NOCD reviews

17
Write a review

From members with themes:

BRANDON
Name
BRANDON
Tennessee
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

I have Pure OCD, and I sought out high risk behavior to feel good

The best way to describe my life with Pure OCD is that I was inadvertently putting restrictions on my capabilities. I would talk myself out of things that were sensible. I was susceptible to behave compulsively and sought out high risk behavior to feel good. My concern going into therapy was financial, the economic insecurities of taking on another medical bill. But man, I learned so many tools in ERP therapy. My therapist was compassionate and a good listener. One day I was having a rough time and the therapist could tell. She offered to continue the session at a better time, so I appreciated that. Doing the work in ERP therapy allows you to experience a sense of serenity that we all want to achieve. I now have tools to carry with me on my journey. 

...  
Kelli
Name
Kelli
California
Contamination
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

ERP is difficult but it works and I am very thankful for this program

OCD constantly tortured me and now I am getting better at not letting it run the show. I was pretty hesitant to start therapy, because I knew that ERP would be hard. My therapist is super helpful and gives me new ways to think about things. She is kind, compassionate, knowledgeable and funny. I am so thankful for her time and her help. My anxiety is reducing and I am improving in regards to resisting compulsions and not getting stuck in the cycle of OCD. She is amazing!! 

...  
Katherine
Name
Katherine
Washington
Contamination
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

I couldn't cook for friends because what if I have HIV and cut myself?

I was a cardiac nurse in a high stress setting, and I ended up walking out of the hospital after a shift and thought I ruined my career due to my OCD. I thought I would have to leave my profession, I thought I may have been schizophrenic. i have Contamination and High responsibility OCD, with being a nurse I became fearful i would get HIV and give to someone else. It completely ruined my life. I couldn't go to the grocery store anymore, or do any ordinary day to day things. I was worried that my therapist would make me do stuff that would hurt somebody, but that’s not how ERP works. I appreciate how my therapist didn’t sugarcoat anything, and I wasn't expecting that. My therapist was truly exceptional on all fronts. I'm now able to do things i couldn't do before. I use ERP every day at work, and I’ve been able to embrace it. I perceive threats differently and now can say "oh well". I experience OCD but I’m no longer fighting it.  

...  
Nick
Name
Nick
Relationship
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

It’s convenient because the therapy is accessible through the app.

Before NOCD, I had spent hundreds of dollars on a single appointment for my OCD. But the low cost-per-session that NOCD offered made therapy affordable, and I’m thankful for that. Sometimes my OCD was so bothersome, it was a struggle just to get through the day. My therapist was very knowledgeable about OCD, and also patient. She was able to provide useful insight into my behaviors in a compassionate manner. I got better, and today, I can spend time doing what I want to do instead of struggling with OCD.  

...  
Name
Anonymous
New Jersey
Magical Thinking
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

I didn’t think I could be treated but NOCD proved me wrong

My therapist was really good. I had reservations at first, because I have Magical Thinking OCD, and I was worried that my therapist wouldn't know how to treat it. Thankfully, she knew what it was. The first therapy session was actually awkward for me, it was the first time I had explained to anyone what my OCD was like, but thanks to the therapy at NOCD, I told my two best friends and my family that I have OCD, so I no longer feel ashamed of it. I’ll be honest, the thought of doing therapy was more frightening than actually doing it, because my biggest fear was that if this didn’t work, that I would go haywire. But my therapist got me over the hump, and now, my life feels a lot more free. I will recommend NOCD to anyone that needs guidance for their OCD. 

...  
Name
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

I was misdiagnosed for years

My OCD was very bad, I would spend almost two hours at my work desk on a compulsion, but I didn’t realize how much time I was burning because it felt like only ten minutes had gone by. It was pretty devastating. I tried going to general therapists for my OCD. but they just treated my OCD as episodes of anxiety, so I never got better. I never opened up to anyone about my OCD, because I didn’t think people would be able to understand what was going on in my head. I found NOCD online, and I like what I read about their approach to treatment, so I tried it out. My life is a lot better now, I don’t feel the need to repeat my actions like I used to, and I’ve learned how to be confident with exercises so I don’t rely on compulsions. I feel like my therapist and I are on the same page. If you’re on the fence about NOCD, I think you should try it, because if it doesn’t work, then you’ll feel just the same. But if it does work, like it did for me, I think you can get your life back.  

...  
Name
Anonymous
Ohio
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

OCD took away things that I enjoyed

I’d had to deal with different OCD themes, but Harm OCD was very bad. I thought I would unintentionally hurt someone, “But what if a friend was here, and I woke up in the middle of the night and hurt them?” I blocked my door when friends slept over. Then it jumped to Suicide OCD, I thought of hurting myself, and how do you escape that? It ruined everything I love, like essential oils. I love using them, but I obsessively thought that it’s so concentrated, what if I drank it right now? My first session with NOCD wasn’t perfect, but after that, it was amazing. My therapist was friendly, she made me feel comfortable. Now my life has completely changed. I didn't see a future for myself before NOCD, I can't even imagine the place I was in, to go through all that and now my life is back to normal. Intrusive thoughts still pop into my head but it’s like I don’t even recognize them anymore.  

...  
Name
Anonymous
Illinois
Harm
Sexual Orientation
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

My therapist was a blessing in my life

I was scared before my first session. I was afraid to face my fears because I have Harm OCD, and would think of harming my family. I thought I was a horrible person because of them, and I never wanted to hurt my children. I quickly trusted my therapist, and I never felt judged by when I shared my intrusive thoughts, NOCD was like the missing piece of a puzzle in my life, I haven't relapsed since them, even though i still have days where I feel a little anxious but now, I have more control over that. I wouldn't be here without my therapist’s guidance. For me, I'm thankful for NOCD, it's a great thing that they did to make the company happen, I'm just so thankful.  

...  
Evelyn
Name
Evelyn
Florida
Existential
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

I can sleep, eat, and socialize again. I feel like the real me.

The best way to describe my OCD before I started therapy is torturous. I couldn't sleep, I couldn’t eat. My social life was ruined because my life was consumed by terrifying intrusive thoughts. Every day was a massive struggle.I signed up with NOCD and my therapist was very understanding, nice, and even funny. Every session, we would go over my process and tweak my ERP exercises based on how I was doing and responding to treatment. It was difficult at times but that's to be expected. Because of the ERP exercises, my mental health has vastly improved. The intrusive thoughts are less intense and less frequent. I feel like I'm starting to get my life back. 

...  
Jennifer
Name
Jennifer
Pennsylvania
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

I was skeptical in the beginning of therapy

My OCD affected me from the moment I woke up to the second I went to sleep. I couldn't clean the house because I felt like I would do it wrong .When I would cook dinner for my family, I had to say "off" out loud when I turned off the stove, and point at the stove to make sure it was off. Imagine stuff like that all day, all night. I’m happy I got matched with my NOCD therapist, who really listened to me. The app let me message her, that way, I didn't have to worry about forgetting things. I felt like she went out of her way to read my messages, and help me. As treatment went on, I became less skeptical and more aware of how to use ERP exercises. I’m so much better now, even though I still have OCD momentsI, I recognize how it will help me in the long term. 

...  
Name
Anonymous
South Carolina
Contamination
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

Over the years, I had become so comfortable at being uncomfortable

I’ve had OCD for 15 years, and let me say, doing therapy has done more for me than medication ever did. A lot of my relationships had been broken because of my OCD, including with my brother. I’m married with 2 kids, and I could feel my OCD projecting on my family which made me decide enough is enough. I love my therapist, she’s taught me so much. It's so cool to see the trickle down effect, you don't see how well ERP is working until you notice positive effects in your life. Recently, my brother and I reconnected. I had the most amazing time with him, and then later that night, he texted me and said “I don't think you realize how much I enjoyed our time together today.” I can’t thank NOCD enough for how you helped me. 

...  
Name
Anonymous
Virginia
Just Right
Existential
Contamination
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

I was really lonely, in my head all the time

A lot of my OCD compulsions are mental, and very distracting.I noticed how much I was struggling once I attended college. One of my subtypes is Contamination OCD, and college was living with roommates, parties, and having to share the bathroom with so many other people. I began taking showers super early in the morning, so I could use a clean shower space without being around others, to avoid anxiety. But that made me feel lonely. Finding a therapist was life changing. I had sessions with my therapist from my house, on my computer. It was really nice that I didn't have to go anywhere, and I was able to have my dog with me during sessions, and that helped with my anxiety. I love my therapist. She was awesome.  

...  
Name
Anonymous
Ohio
Relationship
Contamination
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

I almost lost my boyfriend because of my OCD

I had a boyfriend and Relationship OCD at the same time, which was tough on us. I constantly asked him for reassurance, and he didn't know how to deal with me. We got engaged, but then we split up. He didn’t want me to give up on getting better, so I looked for treatment, and I found NOCD. That was the turning point for our relationship, because I got better, and then, we got married :) I used to overthink everything, like asking myself “did he say I love you enough for me today?” I don't have that anymore, because now I can handle uncertainty. I credit NOCD for giving me my life back. My therapist was awesome, he was funny, encouraging. I felt at ease with him like I could share my failures and successes. He was always there for me.  

...  
Anneliese
Name
Anneliese
30-39
,
New Jersey
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

For 15 years, I never knew I actually had OCD

For a long time, I thought I was crazy. I had all of these things going on inside my head, thoughts of harming other people and I was so sacred. I went to see doctors, but I didn’t get better. Life was hard during that time. But finally, I was told by my NOCD therapist that I have Harm OCD. I was finally diagnosed properly, after 15 years, and I found a really good therapist who’s sincere, empathetic and very smart. She gave me a safe space to speak, I felt I could trust her. NOCD lets you message your therapist daily, I felt so connected the entire time. I still have OCD thoughts, but I’m getting better at making sure they don’t affect me like they used to. The ERP and the exercises my therapist taught me, it all helps, and I feel better about myself. It feels good to finally live without being scared all the time. 

...  
John
Name
John
13-17
,
Massachusetts
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

This review is about my son

My son was being consumed by obsessive thoughts and constantly seeking reassurance. It made things very difficult for us. Therapy was a little tough to get going, since there didn’t seem to be a lot of therapists available for my state. However once we got going it was great. It wasn't until the third meeting that my son was able to get ERP treatment. I would have liked the ERP to begin sooner, but once we got going, it was great. You have to do the homework but if you stick with it you will see results. I also like the quantitative measures of depression, anxiety, and OCD before, during and after the program. Overall, I’d have to honestly say that the results have been fantastic. 

...  
Sarah
Name
Sarah
18-29
,
Illinois
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

This was not my first time in OCD therapy

OCD had started to creep back into my life, after an intensive program for OCD therapy about a year earlier. It was starting to take away time from my life and make me feel stressed for no reason. I signed up for therapy with NOCD, and I learned it's a great service for people at different stages with their OCD. My therapist got right to the point and helped me come up with plenty of exposures to tame my OCD. She was warm and compassionate. Now I have more time for what really matters to me. 

...  
Name
Anonymous
18-29
,
Illinois
Harm
Verified Badge
Verified member11 months ago

ERP is fantastic but teaching how ERP works once you're finished could be better

My OCD has been incredibly distressing. Not totally debilitating to the point of inability to be productive, but definitely “life consuming”. I’m happy with my therapist overall, who was very empathetic and results oriented, although I feel they could have been more focused on how to create effective ERP home practices and plans/routines rather than the actual ERP sessions themselves. But I felt comforted by the attention to my specific symptoms, and validated that what was going on with me was categorized as something more complex than a generalized anxiety situation. I feel more confident in my ability to face the fears and uncertainties of my OCD which in turn gives me a greater feeling of autonomy over them. 

...