Obsessive compulsive disorder - OCD treatment and therapy from NOCD

Member reviews

At NOCD, we live by the value “members first.” Everything that we do is to serve the community with OCD and related conditions. That's why we make all NOCD Therapy reviews public. Our goal is to ensure that everyone can get a fully transparent view of what NOCD Therapy is like, from the lens of our members.

Displaying 20 of 8141
A.C.

A.C.

Jun 21, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Awesome use of ERP

I really enjoy my sessions with Donna, it took me a while to find a therapist who was able to successfully incorporate ERP into my therapy and she does an excellent job. She helps me find great exercises to practice and sets each session up for success so I am constantly improving and finding myself conquering my obsessions. I am so glad I found Donna.

Harm OCD
"Pure" OCD
Postpartum OCD
R.C.

R.C.

Jun 19, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Jen is an excellent therapist. I feel like I can tell her things that are very hard for me to share and she doesn’t judge me but instead provides helpful insights. She’s always very supportive of me. I’m so grateful I have Jen to help me with my OCD!

P.B.

P.B.

Jun 19, 2024· Verified member
Poor experience

Billing and Insurance

My therapist was an absolute gem. She got me from a very dark place to being able to manage my day to day in a fairly short period of time. Her compassion and empathy was truly amazing. My issues were with billing. In my initial consultation call I was told that my insurance would need to be verified but the cost “should” be $50 per session and recommended to do 2 sessions per week. I wasn’t told that the verification process of the insurance doesn’t mean $50 per session would potentially change once submitted to insurance or that I should call on my own. I thought once my insurance card was uploaded and verified I was good to go. I then received an over $1000 bill after two months of therapy. I tried to work with the billing department and my insurance company. My insurance company advised they have a contracted rate with NOCD that they should be aware of or could've checked in the verification process. NOCD told me I should've verified myself but this is not what was stated to me on my consultation call. It needs to be made ABUNDANTLY clear what is expected of patients so they are not in the middle of treatment for a debilitating condition and potentially have to stop therapy. Getting support for mental health is very difficult in this country between finding the right person, getting misdiagnosed, and accessibility. When I met my therapist at NOCD, I felt like I could finally get the help I needed. It's hard having issue after issue with different therapists, insurance companies, etc and makes people not even want to deal with getting help. I asked the billing team to offer a one-time adjustment and meet me halfway so I could continue treatment. They continue to say they are "committed" to ensuring I get the help I need but have unfortunately offered me nothing but platitudes and cancelled my future sessions. I don't expect the cost of therapy to change for me. I don't expect special treatment. What I asked for and felt was reasonable was a one-time courtesy adjustment, having a payment plan to get the remaining balance down, and then drop my therapy down to once a week or biweekly so I could afford it. The lack of transparency around billing is unfortunate and I urge anyone starting therapy through NOCD to prepare for a potential issue like this. (And lastly, yes I know they have many disclaimers in their emails etc but if we are told that the rate is $50/session we should be able to trust our care providers. Those disclaimers are there for companies to get out of situations like this and it's not fair for patients whatsoever. The health care system should be called health don't care)

Relationship OCD
"Pure" OCD

Response from NOCD

responded Jun 24, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. It is incredibly valuable and well received. We deeply apologize for the negative experience and any additional anxiety it may have caused. We have thoroughly investigated the issues you mentioned, as this is certainly not the standard we strive for. Our investigation highlighted key areas that needed improvement, and we have already made changes to ensure this does not happen to other members. We understand this has been addressed with you directly by our internal team, and we appreciate your open communication and patience. Thank you again for your feedback.

B.P.

B.P.

Jun 18, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Allison is truly a Blessing. A few months ago I couldn't even pay attention to anything I was doing. Allison taught me really how to cope with my OCD. I can't Thank her Enough. I've been to Therapy before in the past and it was nothing like this. She really tries to find the root and to work with me to get me back on my feet. Thank You Allison for being so kind and Welcoming. ❤️

G.T.

G.T.

Jun 18, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Very thoughtful approach to OCD therapy

I wasn’t expecting NOCD to be so in-depth. It’s not just a “don’t do this” type of deal. I have learned the root and motive behind my triggers and why my brain is thinking the way it does, which has allowed me to face my triggers more confidently just by having awareness. My therapist is very thought-through in the way she handles things and has helped me tackle OCD in a way I didn’t know could be done. NOCD has given me back the part of my life that OCD tried to steal.

Perfectionism OCD
Health Concern OCD
A.R.

A.R.

Jun 18, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Fantastic therapist - Lisa Marie Porter

I loved working with Lisa Marie Porter, she is so good at her job. She explains concepts really well and has tremendous amounts of patience. She made me feel incredibly comfortable and understood! I highly recommend working with her!

Religion & Spirituality OCD
Magical Thinking OCD
P.D.

P.D.

Jun 18, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Amanda is very caring and helpful in working through my issues. She has helped me to find ways of understanding my ocd as well as other issues. Amanda has helped me to find solutions that best fit the issues I face and I am so grateful to her for everything.

H.F.

H.F.

Jun 18, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Noelle changed my life!!! She is so sweet & understanding and she has taught me so many new things in dealing with OCD. I have seen so much progress in the few weeks I’ve been with her more than I have in years of other counseling.

A.W.

A.W.

Jun 17, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Cara is incredible—one of the kindest and most insightful people I’ve ever worked with

D.F.

D.F.

Jun 17, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Wilda has been helping me along this journey with compassion and good listening to the extent that I have progressed greatly. I have way less OCD in less than 2 months and my quality of life has increased a lot. I still have a lot to do and I am confident we can get there.

T.V.

T.V.

Jun 17, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Raelee is awesome. I’ll never find a better therapist. She is compassionate but also has a no nonsense attitude, which I love. ❤️

C.C.

C.C.

Jun 17, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Brandy Reid is by far the best therapist I have had. She is so very helpful and suggests the very best things for my recovery. I would recommend her to any one on need of help with ocd. She is just awesome!

R.S.

R.S.

Jun 16, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

I felt listened to and like my therapist cared about me.

R.C.

R.C.

Jun 16, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

We feel like Ryan’s therapist took time to find common interests. We (and he) appreciated that.

M.S.

M.S.

Jun 13, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

It was great. I need to resolve personal issues. From the past.

L.S.

L.S.

Jun 13, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

ERP can be pretty hard and at times scary and intimidating, Mrs. Flemister has been nothing but kind, compassionate, and understanding to me as we go through this process. She always helps me to go at my pace and what I feel like I can do. She has been extremely helpful and is very good at explaining what I need to do and why I need to do it. She always helps to give me the push I need to do hard things, and helps me understand that I CAN do hard things. I would recommend her to anyone who needs help with facing their OCD fears. She’s an amazing therapist.

T.P.

T.P.

Jun 13, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Mary Beth had not only helped me with maintaining OCD recovery, she has helped me navigate and tolerate grief, stress, and depression. I recently dealt with a very stressful family situation and because of my ERP tools and Mary Beth’s guidance, I was able to set up a structure that kept me from spiraling back into deep OCD tendencies. So grateful. I will continue to say, she is literally the best therapist I have EVER had (and there have been many).

S.B.

S.B.

Jun 12, 2024· Verified member
Poor experience

Very one size fits all and corporate driven

My brief experience was not good, and felt like a waste of time and money (even if it’s only an insurance copay). The therapist was very late to both sessions I had, had connection issues that were extremely disruptive and seemed to only care about getting through form questions, and a check list. She also didn’t send a video link she had mentioned she would send for me to watch between sessions, so we spent 15 minutes of an already shortened session to watch part of that video, which was super basic information that had no use to me. I felt rushed and that I couldn’t express questions or concerns due to the one sided nature of the calls. I believe some of this is due to the NOCD corporate requirements, and not the individual therapist. If I had to pay full cost for these sessions, I would request a refund and wouldn’t have done the second session.

Contamination OCD

Response from NOCD

responded Jun 24, 2024

This is not what we strive for in our sessions and this will be addressed with the therapist that you met with right away. I will have my team reach out to you to see what we can do to rectify this and assure that you get the care that you deserve.

M.R.

M.R.

Jun 12, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

A truly wonderful therapist

Gwen not only provided me with clear actionable steps to overcome my OCD and worked with me every step of the way but she did so with an approach that was perfectly suited to my personality, my style of learning and my level of commitment. Let me go at my own pace and provided impeccable support throughout. She clearly takes pride in the work she does and genuinely cares about the people she is helping. Another thing that has stood out to me is her ability to listen first THEN carefully consider her response and her suggested course of action. Cannot stress enough how impactful this approach is on her success with me - nothing felt pre-prescribed or by-the-numbers - everything seemed contextual and personalized corrective action based on MY situation.

D.K.

D.K.

Jun 12, 2024· Verified member
Good experience

Scott Silver Review

I've been seeing Scott Silver for a year to address my depression, anxiety, and OCD tendencies, and I'm very satisfied with the experience. From our first session, Scott made me feel at ease with his warm and approachable demeanor, which allowed me to open up about my struggles comfortably. He gave me hope on day 1 that I would be able to improve and get back into living my life. Scott excels in creating a non-judgmental and supportive environment. I always felt heard and understood during our sessions. His empathetic nature and active listening skills played a significant role in my journey towards managing my depression. Throughout the year, Scott introduced me to various cognitive-behavioral strategies and activity specific goals that have been effective in changing my negative thought patterns and developing healthier active coping mechanisms. Scott always encouraged my input in shaping the direction of our sessions, which helped me feel more in control of my healing journey. Overall, my progress under Dr. Scott’s care has been substantial. He has helped me gain valuable insights into my depression, anxiety, and OCD tendencies, and provided me with tools and a plan to manage my symptoms. I would highly recommend Scott to anyone seeking compassionate and effective therapy.

Get matched with an OCD therapist today and start getting better.